Read

Search
  • Andrew

Doctor of the Heart | Physically Spiritual S3 E14

This episode of Physically Spiritual explores the insights of Drs. Anna Terruwe and Conrad Baars. These two Catholic Psychiatrists developed an approach to helping people with emotional difficulties using the thought of St. Thomas Aquinas.

Support Physically Spiritual by joining the Totus Tuus Community at physicallyspiritual.com

Watch on Youtube or Facebook

Listen on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, or Spotify

Please leave a review, like, follow, share and subscribe to help others find the Podcast!


Headings

0:30 The Life of Conrad Baars

2:15 The Faculties of the Soul

6:15 Freud’s Model of the Psyche

9:15 Identifying the Mechanism of Repression

13:45 Baar’s 12 Point Summary of Emotions

22:30 Repression v. Suppression

24:30 Affirmation


Notes


Conrad Baars’ Life - https://www.baarsinstitute.com/conrad-baars/

Anna Terruwe’s Life- https://www.baarsinstitute.com/anna-terruwe

Conrad Baars Wiki - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conrad_Baars

Anna Terruwe Wiki - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anna_Terruwe


The Baars Institute - https://www.baarsinstitute.com

Suzanne Baars, Ph. D. - https://www.baarsinstitute.com/suzanne-baars


Books & Recordings - https://www.baarsinstitute.com/shop


In His Image Counseling - https://ihicounseling.com


The Powers of the Soul - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R2_t7nW6MZQ

The Sense Appetite - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=opFDXRIiu_Q


Freud’s Psyche - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Id,_ego_and_super-ego


Baar’s 12 Point Summary of Emotions - See pages 80 - 81 of Feeling and Healing Your Emotions - https://www.baarsinstitute.com/shop/p/feeling-and-healing-your-emotions


Suzanne Baars, Ph. D., The Abode of Love: Developing the Heart - https://www.amazon.com/The-Abode-of-Love-audiobook/dp/B00SK3OKN2


What is Affirmation? - https://www.baarsinstitute.com/affirmation-therapy


Support Physically Spiritual by joining the Totus Tuus Community at physicallyspiritual.com

Watch on Youtube or Facebook

Listen on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, or Spotify

Please leave a review, like, follow, share and subscribe to help others find the Podcast!

23 views0 comments